Improvements on my Brownie Pinhole Camera: Part II

Aaha! You really want to know where I failed…I know it: you are reading this post!

Well,I will reveal you the secret of why my pinhole camera was still vignetting after the so called improvements I made.

In fact, I placed my handmade pinhole in front of the original aperture.The pinhole was 2.5 cm far ahead from the aperture. I didn’t realise that it could have an influence on vignetting, as I have no experience on pinhole DIY. But it became clear when I saw the traces of torture on the film (I mean the traces of teeth of the tools I used for enlargement).

Recommendations of Doc Pinholistically Yours: just place the pinhole behind the aperture and cross fingers. I swear that if it doesn’t work, I stop this blog.

I took some pictures to show you How I did it:

Image

This is the picture before the the surgery.

Image

I have separated the body from the film holder

Image

hum hum… lensless photography? Are you sure?!

Image

Image

Draw the shape of the pinhole on a aluminium food packaging

Image

Then cut it

Image

covered the pinhole with some black adhesive tape, inserted it in the joint of the camera

Image

Replaced the film holder in its place….

I scanned the pinhole to mesure it before installing of course. The diameter was 0.4 mm for 7.5 cm as a focal length.F stop: 187,5. Cannot wait for the results!

Another thing…

DON’T LAUGH AT ME! OTHERWISE….

Image

I will post the results soon…

Pinholistically Yours!

3 thoughts on “Improvements on my Brownie Pinhole Camera: Part II

  1. hi – thanks for finding me! it’s fun looking at your site, i’ve only barely started. thanks for writing in english. i also have an old flash brownie like that which i just converted to pinhole – i decided i had been making the same format pinhole fotos for too long! now i need more time for taking pictures… /jeff

Leave a Reply

